Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek’s Administrative, Land Use and Environmental attorneys help developers and owners identify what the possibilities are when it comes to land use and environmental law. Our strength is helping to resolve issues before litigation.

From downtown to communities throughout San Diego, California and the United States, SCMV has been involved in numerous developments involving a broad range of legal issues.  We are honored to ranked one of the “Best Law Firms” in the nation in the area of Land Use & Zoning Law by the US News & World Report and Best Lawyers®

Along with long-time local clients, we also represent national developers and their architects. As we are deeply integrated into the region, our firm is often brought into projects as special counsel to help developers and their attorneys accelerate their successful journey through San Diego’s unique development, regulatory and community terrain.

Our attorneys address the full range of land use issues, including: zoning, planning and property acquisition; government entitlements under General, Master and Specific Plans; infrastructure financing agreements; redevelopment agency agreements and Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) matters; eminent domain matters; impact fee issues; and public-private partnerships. SCMV attorneys regularly lead negotiations with government officials of San Diego City and County during entitlement and project development and also advocate for clients before regulatory bodies.

Services

  • Zoning
  • Planning and Property Acquisition
  • Government Entitlements under General, Master and Specific Plans Infrastructure Financing Agreements
  • Redevelopment Agency Agreements and Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) matters
  • Eminent Domain
  • Impact Fees
  • Public/Private Partnerships

View Attorneys

Select an attorney below to find out more about their expertise in Administrative, Land Use & Environmental Law

Practice Area Leader
James R. Dawe
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3060
E: dawe@scmv.com
Learn More
Brian T. Seltzer
Chief Operating Officer & Shareholder
P: 619.685.3025
E: bseltzer@scmv.com
Learn More
Thomas F. Steinke
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3038
E: steinke@scmv.com
Learn More
Neal P. Panish
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3083
E: panish@scmv.com
Learn More
Gregory A. Vega
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3040
E: vega@scmv.com
Learn More
G. Scott Williams
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3151
E: swilliams@scmv.com
Learn More
Erik L. Schraner
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3187
E: schraner@scmv.com
Learn More
Christine M. LaPinta
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3088
E: lapinta@scmv.com
Learn More
David J. Dorne
Shareholder & Business Department Chair
P: 619.685.3027
E: dorne@scmv.com
Learn More
Katrina W. Wu
Associate
P: 619.685.3107
E: wu@scmv.com
Learn More
Scott W. Perlin
Associate
P: 619.685.3117
E: perlin@scmv.com
Learn More

Representative Matters

SCMV has particular expertise at both the state and federal level with environmental law including litigation involving National Environmental Policy Act, California Environmental Quality Act, Environmental Protection Act, Clean Water Act and the Clean Air Act.