At Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek, we believe a good estate plan is enhanced by wisdom and achieved by working with those who have come to understand the possibilities and responsibilities that wealth and success can bring. We also respect the personal nature of the process and the critical role that family dynamics and interpersonal relationships play in determining whether various estate planning techniques are appropriate for our clients.

SCMV’s estate planning and administration attorneys work with individuals and families of all walks of life and have particular expertise working with high-net-worth individuals and families, including those with closely-held businesses. We are expert in all aspects of estate tax, gift tax and income tax, and we specialize in creating plans to protect the interests of family members and heirs, to manage our clients’ assets to benefit charities, to address gift and estate tax issues and to translate the aspirations of our clients into a legally sound and sustainable plan.

All forms of revocable and irrevocable trusts, including:

  • generation skipping trusts
  • life insurance trusts
  • qualified domestic trusts (QDOTs)
  • charitable remainder and lead trusts
  • minor education and gift trusts
  • qualified personal residence trusts (QPRTs)
  • special needs trusts

Services

  • Estate, tax and multi-generation succession planning
  • Charitable giving and family gift planning, including private foundation formation and administration
  • Retirement and deferred compensation planning
  • Health care and disability planning
  • Trust and estate litigation, elder abuse claims and mediation of contested matters
  • Fiduciary accounting and taxation (including audits)
  • Trust and estate administration
  • Probate matters
  • Estate/gift taxation, including: return preparation and audits

View Attorneys

Select an attorney below to find out more about their expertise in Estate Planning & Administration

Practice Area Leader
Lawrence S. Branton
Of Counsel
P: 619.685.3159
E: branton@scmv.com
Learn More
Dennis J. Wickham
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3135
E: wickham@scmv.com
Learn More
Rhonda Crandall
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3091
E: crandall@scmv.com
Learn More
James H. Siegel
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3160
E: siegel@scmv.com
Learn More
David P. Ruth
Of Counsel
P: 619.685.3161
E: ruth@scmv.com
Learn More
Laura L. Nichols
Of Counsel
P: 619.685.3115
E: nichols@scmv.com
Learn More
Rebecca L. Van Loon
Associate
P: 619.685.3157
E: vanloon@scmv.com
Learn More
Jason R. Faas
Associate
P: 619.685.3170
E: faas@scmv.com
Learn More
Parisa F. Weiss
Associate
P: 619.685.3110
E: weiss@scmv.com
Learn More
Hillary M. Dorne
Associate
P: 619.685.3076
E: hdorne@scmv.com
Learn More
Katrina W. Wu
Associate
P: 619.685.3107
E: wu@scmv.com
Learn More
Jessica S. Doidge
Associate
P: 619.685.3129
E: doidge@scmv.com
Learn More

Related Publications

Portability Offers New Opportunities for Tax Savings in Estate Planning

By James Siegel and Rebecca Van Loon In 2013, the estate tax and gift tax rates increased to 40% and the federal estate and gift tax exemption amounts were frozen at $5 million per person…

Learn More