As companies evolve, the business, investment and tax strategies of the people guiding them also change. At Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek, we assist our clients in legal strategy, so they can stay focused on the vision that drives their success. Corporate leaders and finance officers are facing some of the most challenging decisions they have had to make in years, and SCMV is here to guide them every step of the way.

With clients ranging from large, publicly-held corporations to small companies and proprietorships in many industries, most of SCMV’s Finance/Corporate and Securities Practice involve working closely and on a long-term basis with entrepreneurs.

We work thoroughly and at a fast entrepreneurial pace, offering counsel on considerations that affect and influence the many decisions that entrepreneurs face on a continuing basis. In the corporate and finance area of law, we are known as a firm that excels in anticipating and responding to changing market conditions.

We also represent public companies, broker-dealers, shareholders, investors, underwriters, investment brokers and investment advisors in securities and regulatory matters such as:

  • Complying with federal, state and foreign securities law when issuing securities
  • Periodic reporting and other compliance obligations under federal securities laws; the National Association of Securities Dealers; and the rules of national and regional stock exchange proceedings before the Securities and Exchange Commission and NASD

Services

  • Forming and advising corporations, limited liability companies, limited partnerships and other business entities
  • Creating buy-sell arrangements
  • Preparing public and private securities offerings
  • Setting up plans for implementing stock options, stock purchases and similar benefits
  • Preparing mergers, acquisitions and divestitures (stock and assets, spin-offs, going private/leveraged buyouts, tender and Exchange offers, shareholders rights/“poison pill plans” and other transactions)
  • Structuring bank, venture capital and other institutional and private financing

View Attorneys

Select an attorney below to find out more about their expertise in Finance/Corporate & Securities

Practice Area Leader
David J. Dorne
Shareholder & Business Department Chair
P: 619.685.3027
E: dorne@scmv.com
Learn More
Brian T. Seltzer
Chief Operating Officer & Shareholder
P: 619.685.3025
E: bseltzer@scmv.com
Learn More
John H. Alspaugh
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3055
E: alspaugh@scmv.com
Learn More
Sean T. Hargaden
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3077
E: hargaden@scmv.com
Learn More
Gregory A. Vega
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3040
E: vega@scmv.com
Learn More
Rhonda Crandall
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3091
E: crandall@scmv.com
Learn More
Joseph P. Martinez
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3177
E: martinez@scmv.com
Learn More
David P. Ruth
Of Counsel
P: 619.685.3161
E: ruth@scmv.com
Learn More
Matthew D. Seltzer
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3047
E: mseltzer@scmv.com
Learn More
Brian M. Katusian
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3186
E: katusian@scmv.com
Learn More
Jason R. Faas
Associate
P: 619.685.3170
E: faas@scmv.com
Learn More
Hillary M. Dorne
Associate
P: 619.685.3076
E: hdorne@scmv.com
Learn More
J. Kevin Mann
Of Counsel
P: 619.685.3125
E: mann@scmv.com
Learn More
Matthew C. Douglas
Associate
P: 619.685.3168
E: douglas@scmv.com
Learn More