In complex litigation, twin energies – preparation and persuasion – usually dwarf all factual, legal or personal elements in achieving a successful outcome. The first is a matter of rigorousness and determination; the second, a matter of experience and art. For Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek litigators, superb preparation is the foundation for obtaining a cost-effective resolution for a client, whether through early settlement, pre-trial hearings or an appearance before a judge, jury, administrative law judge or arbitration panel. Yet persuasiveness – the art of helping someone see why they should hold in your favor – has again and again helped make the most of our disciplined preparation on a client’s behalf.

The firm pioneered development of proprietary trial-presentation software that can make dramatic use of information at trial. In the hands of top litigators, it allows complex information to be presented in ways most conducive to understanding and retention, and it enables instant recall and presentation of audio-visual segments – a perfect adjunct for capitalizing on preparedness and persuasiveness.

Services

  • Anti-competitive practices and professional malpractice
  • Aviation and products liability
  • Bankruptcy
  • Community property
  • Construction and real estate
  • Contracts
  • Corporations, partnerships and limited liability companies
  • Criminal conduct and RICO (Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations statute)
  • Eminent domain
  • Employment
  • Insurance
  • Patents and intellectual property
  • Planning and zoning
  • Securities
  • Torts and personal injury

View Attorneys

Select an attorney below to find out more about their expertise in Litigation

Practice Area Leader
Gerald L. McMahon
Chairman of the Firm & Litigation Department Chair
P: 619.685.3114
E: mcmahon@scmv.com
Learn More
Reginald A. (Reg) Vitek
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3075
E: vitek@scmv.com
Learn More
Dennis J. Wickham
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3135
E: wickham@scmv.com
Learn More
Michael G. Nardi
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3085
E: nardi@scmv.com
Learn More
Neal P. Panish
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3083
E: panish@scmv.com
Learn More
Michael A. Leone
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3071
E: leone@scmv.com
Learn More
Daniel Eaton
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3052
E: eaton@scmv.com
Learn More
Robert (“Robin”) M. Traylor
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3099
E: traylor@scmv.com
Learn More
Christine M. LaPinta
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3088
E: lapinta@scmv.com
Learn More
Robert S. Brewer, Jr.
Of Counsel
P: 619.685.3089
E: brewer@scmv.com
Learn More
Andrea N. Myers
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3095
E: myers@scmv.com
Learn More
Jacob T. Spaid
Associate
P: 619.685.3096
E: spaid@scmv.com
Learn More
Hang Alexandra Do
Associate
P: 619.685.3120
E: do@scmv.com
Learn More
Adam Gordon
Associate
P: 619.685.3193
E: gordon@scmv.com
Learn More
Scott W. Perlin
Associate
P: 619.685.3117
E: perlin@scmv.com
Learn More
Hannah E. Brown
Associate
P: 619.685.3153
E: brown@scmv.com
Learn More

Related Publications

Adam Gordon Joins Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek

Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek is pleased to announce that Adam Gordon has joined the firm as an associate. As an experienced trial lawyer, Adam joins the firm’s litigation department. His practice focuses on business litigation…

Learn More