At Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek, we represent buyers, sellers, developers and investors with their real estate-related businesses and transactions. Our attorneys have extensive experience in analyzing and creating cost-effective and practical legal solutions to the myriad business challenges confronting our clients. We provide guidance through all phases of the purchase and sale of real estate assets and are prepared to handle all types of real estate challenges that may arise. We pride ourselves on taking proactive and precautionary measures to minimize future risks and disputes while guiding our clients to successful solutions that maximize their goals. We assist our clients in all stages of the transactional life cycle, from strategic evaluation and positioning, land use zoning and planning, federal, state and local regulatory and compliance, to contract negotiations and conflict resolution.

We have substantial experience with all aspects of real estate litigation, whether in state courts, federal courts or through alternative dispute resolution forums. Our expertise encompasses disputes involving but not limited to purchase and sale transactions, partnership disputes, landlord/tenant matters, lender liability and foreclosure, planning and zoning matters, permitting and regulatory issues, litigation concerning the validity of local ordinances affecting real estate, environmental issues, easements, adverse possession, title and eminent domain disputes, brokerage disputes, condominium law and valuation issues.

Services

  • Acquisition, financing & entitlements
  • Purchase and sale/vendor and vendee transactions
  • Lender and construction contract negotiations
  • Insurance and bonding
  • Boundaries, easements and rights of way
  • Mineral rights
  • Defect litigation
  • SIR assessment trends
  • Alternative dispute resolution
  • Foreclosure
  • Landlord-tenant disputes

View Attorneys

Select an attorney below to find out more about their expertise in Real Estate Development & Litigation

Practice Area Leader
J. Scott Scheper
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3046
E: scheper@scmv.com
Learn More
Robert Caplan
Shareholder & President
P: 619.685.3070
E: caplan@scmv.com
Learn More
David J. Dorne
Shareholder & Business Department Chair
P: 619.685.3027
E: dorne@scmv.com
Learn More
James R. Dawe
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3060
E: dawe@scmv.com
Learn More
Brian T. Seltzer
Chief Operating Officer & Shareholder
P: 619.685.3025
E: bseltzer@scmv.com
Learn More
John H. Alspaugh
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3055
E: alspaugh@scmv.com
Learn More
Michael G. Nardi
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3085
E: nardi@scmv.com
Learn More
Thomas F. Steinke
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3038
E: steinke@scmv.com
Learn More
Robert M. Traylor
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3099
E: traylor@scmv.com
Learn More
David M. Greeley
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3150
E: greeley@scmv.com
Learn More
Joseph P. Martinez
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3177
E: martinez@scmv.com
Learn More
G. Scott Williams
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3151
E: swilliams@scmv.com
Learn More
Erik L. Schraner
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3187
E: schraner@scmv.com
Learn More
Christine M. LaPinta
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3088
E: lapinta@scmv.com
Learn More
Matthew D. Seltzer
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3047
E: mseltzer@scmv.com
Learn More
Andrea N. Myers
Shareholder
P: 619.685.3095
E: myers@scmv.com
Learn More
Scott W. Perlin
Associate
P: 619.685.3117
E: perlin@scmv.com
Learn More