Business Law

Running a business is not easy. In addition to the responsibility of handling day-to-day operations, business owners face an ever-increasing number of legal requirements and obligations.

Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek counsels and represents a diverse clientele of private and publicly held companies, tax-exempt and nonprofit organizations, professional service providers, family businesses, entrepreneurs and individuals. Our clients range from start-up companies to well-established enterprises in a wide range of industries and specialties. We scale our services to meet the particular needs of each client while providing counsel and advice at every stage of a client’s business progression.

We believe that advance planning and preparation can eliminate many of the hurdles – legal and otherwise – business owners often encounter. SCMV attorneys strategically advise our clients on all phases of a business’ life cycle from formation to succession or acquisition.

Many clients retain us to serve as if we are their in-house general counsel, providing comprehensive, ongoing planning and advice. This allows us to develop an in-depth familiarity with our client’s business, culture and legal needs; help preserve a long-term relationship, which facilitates efficiency of service; and become an integral part of our clients’ management team.

Our approach to providing business services has allowed us to serve multiple generations of leaders at many of our clients’ organizations.

View Attorneys

Select an attorney below to find out more about their expertise in Business Law

Practice Group Leader

David J. Dorne
Shareholder & Business Department Chair

P: 619.685.3027
E: dorne@scmv.com

Learn More

Robert Caplan
Shareholder & President

P: 619.685.3070
E: caplan@scmv.com

Learn More

Sean T. Hargaden
Shareholder

P: 619.685.3077
E: hargaden@scmv.com

Learn More

Joseph P. Martinez
Shareholder

P: 619.685.3177
E: martinez@scmv.com

Learn More

Matthew D. Seltzer
Shareholder

P: 619.685.3047
E: mseltzer@scmv.com

Learn More

Brian M. Katusian
Shareholder

P: 619.685.3186
E: katusian@scmv.com

Learn More

Jason R. Faas
Associate

P: 619.685.3170
E: faas@scmv.com

Learn More

Hillary M. Dorne
Associate

P: 619.685.3076
E: hdorne@scmv.com

Learn More

Katrina W. Wu
Associate

P: 619.685.3107
E: wu@scmv.com

Learn More

Matthew C. Douglas
Associate

P: 619.685.3168
E: douglas@scmv.com

Learn More

Agustin Ceballos
Associate

P: 619.685.3036
E: ceballos@scmv.com

Learn More

Casey O’Connell
Associate

P: 619.685.3133
E: oconnell@scmv.com

Learn More