Estate Planning & Administration

At Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek, we believe a good estate plan is enhanced by wisdom and achieved by working with those who have come to understand the possibilities and responsibilities that wealth and success can bring. We also respect the personal nature of the process and the critical role that family dynamics and interpersonal relationships play in determining whether various estate planning techniques are appropriate for our clients.

SCMV’s estate planning and administration attorneys work with individuals and families of all walks of life and have particular expertise working with high-net-worth individuals and families, including those with closely-held businesses. We are expert in all aspects of estate tax, gift tax and income tax, and we specialize in creating plans to protect the interests of family members and heirs, to manage our clients’ assets to benefit charities, to address gift and estate tax issues and to translate the aspirations of our clients into a legally sound and sustainable plan.

All forms of revocable and irrevocable trusts, including:

  • generation skipping trusts
  • life insurance trusts
  • qualified domestic trusts (QDOTs)
  • charitable remainder and lead trusts
  • minor education and gift trusts
  • qualified personal residence trusts (QPRTs)
  • special needs trusts

View Attorneys

Select an attorney below to find out more about their expertise in Estate Planning & Administration

Practice Group Leader

James H. Siegel
Shareholder

P: 619.685.3160
E: siegel@scmv.com

Learn More

Rhonda Crandall
Shareholder

P: 619.685.3091
E: crandall@scmv.com

Learn More

Lawrence S. Branton
Of Counsel

P: 619.685.3159
E: branton@scmv.com

Learn More

David P. Ruth
Of Counsel

P: 619.685.3161
E: ruth@scmv.com

Learn More

Laura L. Nichols
Of Counsel

P: 619.685.3115
E: nichols@scmv.com

Learn More

Rebecca L. Van Loon
Associate

P: 619.685.3157
E: vanloon@scmv.com

Learn More

Jason R. Faas
Associate

P: 619.685.3170
E: faas@scmv.com

Learn More

Parisa F. Weiss
Associate

P: 619.685.3110
E: weiss@scmv.com

Learn More

Hillary M. Dorne
Associate

P: 619.685.3076
E: hdorne@scmv.com

Learn More

Katrina W. Wu
Associate

P: 619.685.3107
E: wu@scmv.com

Learn More

Agustin Ceballos
Associate

P: 619.685.3036
E: ceballos@scmv.com

Learn More

Casey O’Connell
Associate

P: 619.685.3133
E: oconnell@scmv.com

Learn More

Related Publications

Laura Nichols Earns Accredited Estate Planner® Designation

SCMV is pleased to announce that Laura Nichols has been certified as an Accredited Estate Planner® for her experience in, commitment to and belief in the team concept of estate planning to…

Learn More

Rebecca Van Loon Named One of San Diego’s 40 Under 40

Congratulations to SCMV Associate Rebecca Van Loon for being named a 40 Under 40 by San Diego Metro Magazine. The 2017 list of honorees represent some of the best and brightest minds in San Diego…

Learn More

Portability Offers New Opportunities for Tax Savings in Estate Planning

By James Siegel and Rebecca Van Loon In 2013, the estate tax and gift tax rates increased to 40% and the federal estate and gift tax exemption amounts were frozen at $5 million per person (adjusted…

Learn More